You might be wondering why some Discord users are invisible to you or unreachable when you’ve previously had a conversation with them. Internet problems aside, you may have been blocked by them at one point or another. When blocked, you can’t contact them with that account at all.
Finding out if you’re blocked is pretty simple, as you can use one of several methods. Unfortunately, you cannot do much about it since the person has chosen not to interact with you. Read on to learn the details of how this process works.
How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord
The easiest way to check if someone blocked you is to send them a private message. Usually, if you can send them a message, they haven’t blocked you yet, and you can breathe a sigh of relief.
However, you’ll know right away that you’re blocked when you access your chat logs with said person. Clyde, Discord’s official bot, will appear and show you an error message. He’d say that your message couldn’t be delivered due to one of these reasons:
- You don’t share servers with the recipient
- You disabled direct messages on the shared servers you’re both in
- The recipient will only accept messages from friends
Clyde will also include a link to a complete list of possible reasons why you’re blocked. However, he won’t tell you the exact reason you can’t send a message to the person.
That said, if you were recently talking to this person and now can’t send any messages to them, you were likely blocked at some point.
Another way to find out if you added the person as a friend is to check your friends list. If they disappeared from it, that is another sign that they probably blocked you.
How to Check if Someone Blocked You on Discord Without Messaging Them
Thankfully, there’s another way to check if someone blocked you. You don’t have to type out a long-winded message before finding out it was all for nothing. On Discord, there are emotes which you can use anywhere, and they’ll come in handy for our little trick.
If you think that you were blocked, try reacting to one of their messages in a server you both share. The emote will appear if they haven’t blocked you. However, if you’re on a PC, the screen will vibrate a little.
Mobile users have a more distinct sign. They’ll get an alert with “Reaction Blocked” on it. This moment is when you’ll know someone has blocked you.
There’s also another method of discovering whether someone has blocked you without sending them a message. However, it does involve sending them something else. This time, you’ll be sending them a friend request instead.
Here’s what to do:
- Go to the Home menu on Discord.
- Head to the “Friends” menu.
- Select “Add Friend.”
- Type in the person’s Discord username and tag.
- If you were blocked, it won’t go through.
That’s another surefire sign to check. Alternatively, if you know the person shares a server with you, you can pull up their profile and click “Add Friend” from there as well. This method is less cumbersome.
What Can I Do if Someone Blocks Me?
Frankly, there’s nothing you can do about it since your current account has no way to reach out to the other user. You can make a new Discord account and contact them, but if they don’t allow messages from non-friends, you’re out of luck.
The next best thing is probably to ask some mutual friends to help. Your mutual friends who haven’t been blocked yet can still contact the other person and help mediate.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Discord?
When you block someone on Discord, you no longer see their messages. You can see “1 Blocked Message” occasionally appear if you both still share a server. That’s a stark reminder that you blocked the person.
You can choose to unveil what the message says if you’re curious enough. Otherwise, you can go on with browsing the channels.
Why Doesn’t Discord Tell Me if I’m Blocked?
Discord employs a “no evidence and no alertness” policy when it comes to blocking other users. The procedure is designed to prevent users from finding out and making a big deal out of it. Unless you wish to find out, you’ll have no way to know if someone blocked you.
Why Can’t I Reach Them?
Discord doesn’t seem to be revising its “no alertness and no evidence” policy anytime soon. Thus, these tricks to finding out if you were blocked are here to stay. Knowing one of these tricks will help you determine if someone doesn’t want to talk to you.
Have you been blocked on Discord? How many users have you blocked? Let us know in the comments section below.
You May Like Also